linux + saving a drive image help

Hi guys.

Could really use your assistance once more.
I think the prob is that I’ve never used linux/unix before which is why I’m having difficulty interpreting what appear to be simple instructions to my Win NTFS formatted brain cells.

What I want to do is take a snapshot of an xppro drive with a couple of programs installed on it and save an image of it on another hard drive full of backups.
Then I can install/uninstall all sorts of random progs to test and when things start going pear shaped just restore the image and start afresh without having to go through a re-install of the os and base apps again.

So I found a prog called Partimage on a live cd called SystemRescueCD (http://www.sysresccd.org/Main_Page)

Unfortunately I just cant interpret the simple instructions in here… http://www.partimage.org/Partimage-manual_Usage

• 1 Introdction
  • 2 How to save a partition into an image file

sda/hda - ?
Image file to create - ?
Save partition to file - yes
Connect to server - no
Compression - .bz2 will do I think
Options - ?
Image split - auto will do

Thats it!

I’m backing up the drive image onto a hd with other backups already on it so it MUST NOT wipe the drive.

Any ideas? Or can anyone suggest a better free alternative.

Cheers

ghost4linux is what I use, also a livecd, allows you to ftp the image it creates and many other really cool things.

DT.

cheers DT - I’ll check it out.

Could dd not be used?

To Backup to a compressed image

dd if=/dev/hdx | gzip > /path/to/image.gz

To restore

gzip -dc /path/to/image.gz | dd of=/dev/hdx

Guys - I’m afraid I just dont understand linux at all.

@drezha - thanks but I have no idea what you are talking about so I’ve no idea if it will do or not.