MS Word drop down list

Righto, complete non-technical bod here (my job title includes the word manager, so all technical ability went out the window years ago! :()

Trying to put a drop down box in to a Word document (using Word 2007, but will be saved as a 97-2003 compatible document). It’s to go in a table so that the document controller/editor can update the field when required. I would like the drop down box to be able to have a number of fields, they don’t have to do anything, other than be displyed (i bet this will be quite easy to you VBA guys). Need the fields to be:

New
Recorded - Accepted
Recorded - Rejected
Recorded - Emergency
Authorisation - Rejected
Authorisation - Approved
Implemented
Documented
Closed - Failed
Backout Plan Implemented
Cancelled
Closed - Succesful
PIR Documented

Can anyone help a complete noob?

cheers

Kef

Woot, never mind, google to the rescue! Using develpers tools in Word 2007 i added a ‘Drop down list’ form field, suprisingly it gave me a drop down for list! Who would have guessed! :slight_smile:

Can i ask for a bit of help guys? I’ve put some drop down forms into the word document, but when i open it they aren’t active, i have to go into the VBA editor and run each sub to activate the lists contained within them, then i can change, save and exit the document but when i open it again i have to go through the same process all over again (running each sub).

I’ve attached the document, so if anyone could have a look and suggest anything to solve this that would be great,

cheers

Kef

I’m no VBA expert m8 but you don’t have macro execution disabled in Office by default for security do you?

I deleted all your code and added

Private Sub Document_Open()
    With ThisDocument.ComboBox1
        .AddItem "New"
        .AddItem "Recorded - Accepted"
        .AddItem "Recorded - Rejected"
        .AddItem "Recorded - Emergency"
        .AddItem "Authorisation - Rejected"
        .AddItem "Authorisation - Approved"