MSN on linux?

might be a stoopid question but is there a client app for msn messenger for linux?

Hmmm, plenty of IRC stuff

This might do the job http://amsn.sourceforge.net/

But I have never used it so you are on a voyage of discovery :wink:

I like jmsn. amsn is a little bit featureless.

Google it.

Originally posted by MrTFWitt
[B]Hmmm, plenty of IRC stuff

This might do the job http://amsn.sourceforge.net/

But I have never used it so you are on a voyage of discovery :wink: [/B]

gets my vote :slight_smile:

I think jabber (or it is gabber? I can’t remember) supports MSN (definatly supports ICQ and AIM).

just been playing… anyone got jmsn working? am getting a bizarre (aren’t the all? :rolleyes: ) error message from java.

it runs, but when I try to login it throws a wobbly and says “click to log in” :doh:

am running mandrake btw :wink:

Could you post the error message in full.

They make sense to me as I’m a java developer :wink:

you did ask :wink:

rath.msnm.NotificationProcessor: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method) at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(PlainSocketImpl.java:305) at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(PlainSocketImpl.java:171) at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(PlainSocketImpl.java:158) at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:434)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Socket.java:384)
at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:291) at java.net.Socket.<init>(Socket.java:119) at rath.msnm.AbstractProcessor.makeConnection(AbstractProcessor.java:149) at rath.msnm.AbstractProcessor.run(AbstractProcessor.java:305)

Basically means that the remote server refused the connection outright. Port blocked.

The client is probably too far out of date now :frowning:

Microsoft change things around to break unauthorised clients the whole time.

cheers mate. appreciated :slight_smile:

I’ll jot that one down for next time :wink:

Originally posted by Spaceboy